MARKING ONE HUNDRED YEARS

IAN WILLIAMS IN THE SPECTATOR

The first day of July marked the 100th Anniversary of the Chinese Communist Party, and Ian Williams, author of Every Breath You Take: China’s New Tyranny has penned the cover story of this week’s Spectator magazine examining the personality cult of Xi Jinping. Now effectively president for life Xi Jinping has overseen the extraordinary rise of the world’s first digital totalitarian state in China, with a system of hitherto unimaginable social and political control. You can read and subscribe here.

Ian joined the Spectator podcast, ‘The Edition’ this week, discussing China’s influence over Cambridge University, and was also a guest on The Spectator TV with Cindy Yu. Listen to the podcast here and watch the latest episde of The Spectator TV here.

PICK UP EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE FROM OUR WEBSITE

A TOAST TO GREAT WRITING

FROM PAISLEY TO KINLOCH

Denzil Meyrick, lauded throughout the world for his DCI Daley series, is on a spectacular roll. For Any Other Truth, the latest in this bestselling series is out now – topping the charts in Audio and eBook and flying off the shelves in print.

A brand new stand alone novel, Terms of Restitution, follows in September, set in the dark street of Paisley and London – available now for pre-order.

And then… a second tale from Kinloch, A Toast to the Old Stones. A charming, nostalgic and humorous tale, this is a must-have gift to finish your year. Publishing in November 2021 – you can pre-order now!

BROWSE ALL DENZIL’S WORK HERE

THE GIFT OF GOLF

WITH YOUNG TOM MORRIS

The Open Championship 2021 begins on July 15th at the Royal St. George’s Golf Course. In the build up to the return of golf’s greatest contest, we celebrate the life of the sport’s first ever superstar. Young Tom Morris revolutionised the game despite his tragically short playing career, transforming golf into what we know today.

This week’s extract from Stephen Proctor’s Monarch of the Green gives us a glimpse of Young Tom’s unique play style that took the golfing world by storm.

To learn more about Tommy’s predecessor Old Tom Morris, you can also tune in to the TalkinGolf podcast, with Stephen Proctor and Roger McStravick here.

READ THE EXTRACT HERE

PODCAST WITH LES WILSON

TEA WITH CANTILINA

Tune in this week with Les Wilson on the This Is Islay podcast, in conversation with Jolyon Thurgood about his new book, Putting the Tea in Britain. Learn the dramatic and violent history of this most British of drinks, and discover the wily Scots entrepreneurs who were instrumental in bringing it home.

This Is Islay is a volunteer-led podcast celebrating the people, places, events and connections of Islay and Jura.

LISTEN HERE

THE NIGHT BEFORE MORNING

ALISTAIR MOFFAT’S DEBUT MAKING WAVES

The Night Before Morning – the thrilling first first novel from historian Alistair Moffat – has made a big splash since publication on 01 July.

‘Moffat stretches the tension to breaking point in a gripping but dark thriller’
Alastair Mabbott, Herald

‘Ingeniously plausible …a fine galloping story’
Allan Massie, The Scotsman

‘A chilling tale, vividly told… Moffat – an accomplished popular historian – has come up with a rattling yarn built on an intriguing premise’
Author and film-maker George Rosie

A summer must-read for fans of John Buchan and Robert Harris!

GET YOUR COPY NOW